History and Background
U Bein’s Bridge, the longest teak footbridge is spanning in the width of the Taungthaman Lake. This winding which has 1.2 kilometre marvel long is 200 years olds. However, U Bein Bridge is still sturdy, in particular, a testament to the strength of the teak used in its construction. The story began in 1859 when King Mindon decided to move his capital from Amarapura to Mandalay. As wanted to reuse as much material from Amarapura as possible for the construction of Mandalay. During the relocation of the new capital the local mayor of Amarapura was able to salvage some of the teak wood from Inwa Palace. With over 1000 pillars, U Bein began constructing the bridge across Taungthaman Lake. This reduced the time people took to move between two banks of the lake. Then the name U Bein was set as the name of the bridge. The structure of the bridge seems to be flat type but actually slight curve. The U Bein Bridge is supported by over a thousand teak pillars. However, time after time, some pillars have been worn by the water and need concrete supports. The surface planks are from the old royal palace of Inwa, a former Myanmar capital; therefore, this U Bein has a great historical story.